Roulette Bets and Betting Patterns

Vous avez probablement entendu le proverbe “Qui ne risque rien n’a rien”. Cet aphorisme s’applique pleinement aux mises sur les résultats des jeux de casino, car il faut prendre des risques si l’on veut gagner gros. Il est également valable pour le jeu de la roulette, où le hasard règne et où gagner ou perdre ne dépend que de la chance.

C’est précisément ce qui pousse de nombreuses personnes à associer ce jeu captivant à des mises inconsidérées. Pourtant, si vous engagez une conversation avec un joueur de roulette expérimenté, vous remarquerez probablement qu’il n’est pas enclin à prendre des risques injustifiés. Bien sûr, tous les jeux de casino, y compris la roulette, comportent un certain degré de risque, mais prendre des risques calculés n’est pas synonyme de décisions irréfléchies.

Casino
Bonus
La Revue
Bovada Casino
Sign Up

100% up to

$1,000

Slotsroom.com Casino
Sign Up

200% up to

$2,000

+ 200 Spins

Shazam Casino
Sign Up

250% up to

+ 100 Spins

Andromeda Casino
Sign Up

225% up to

+ 50 Spins

La plupart des joueurs de roulette expérimentés sont capables de faire cette distinction, c’est pourquoi ils préfèrent incorporer divers modèles de mises ou combinaisons de mises afin d’augmenter leurs chances globales de succès et de réduire le risque d’épuiser leur bankroll. En effet, lorsqu’ils sont combinés à une gestion adéquate du bankroll, les modèles de mise peuvent considérablement diminuer le risque de ruine que comporte ce jeu de hasard.

Savoir combien miser et sur quelle combinaison de chiffres miser sont les ingrédients les plus importants pour réussir à la table de roulette. Si vous n’avez pas encore fait vos premiers pas pour devenir un bon joueur de roulette, les combinaisons et les modèles de mise populaires que nous avons couverts ci-dessous peuvent vous aider.

Modèles de mise pour les mises externes

Comme vous le savez probablement déjà, il existe deux grandes catégories de mises à la roulette. Les mises internes sont faites soit sur des numéros individuels, soit sur des groupes de numéros voisins sur le plan de jeu. Ces mises comportent un degré de risque plus élevé. Pour cette raison, il est généralement recommandé aux joueurs moins expérimentés de faire des mises externes, car les chances de gagner régulièrement sont plus grandes.

Les sous-types qui entrent dans la catégorie des mises externes sont Rouge/Noir, Passe/manque, Pair/Impair, Colonnes et Douzaines. Parmi ceux-ci, les trois premiers types de mises rapportent de l’argent, tandis que les deux derniers rapportent 2 pour 1. Supposons que vous soyez intéressé par les chances paires. C’est là que le hedge betting peut être une approche utile.

Les mises alternatives sur les chances égales

Le hedge betting signifie que vous placez des mises qui se complètent pour que le joueur puisse atteindre un équilibre entre le risque et la récompense potentielle. Pour mieux le démontrer, imaginez que vous êtes prêt à risquer 10 £ sur le prochain tour et à miser sur impair/pair. Un modèle approprié consisterait à miser 1 £ sur cinq numéros impairs et 5 £ sur les numéros pairs.

Cela réduirait la probabilité de perdre les 10 £ à 14 sur 37, car il y aura 12 numéros impairs que vous n’aurez pas couverts, plus le zéro qui fait également perdre les mises à somme égale. Si l’un de vos numéros impairs sort, votre mise de 1 £ sera rentabilisé à un taux de 35 pour 1, ce qui signifie que vous gagnerez 35 £ et perdrez 9 £ sur les cinq autres mises, ce qui donne un bénéfice net de 26 £. Par contre, si un numéro pair sort (les chances réelles sont de 18 à 19), vous serez quitte car vous récupérerez vos 10 £ initiales.

hedge betting even chances

Bien sûr, il ne s’agissait que d’un exemple pour démontrer comment les mises de couverture sur les mises à parité s’appliquent au jeu de la roulette. Les joueurs peuvent trouver des modèles similaires et ajuster la taille des mises pour qu’elle corresponde à leurs propres préférences et à la taille de leur bankroll.

Le « hedge-betting » sur les douzaines

De tels schémas de couverture peuvent également être incorporés dans votre jeu lorsque vous misez sur les Douzaines, chacune étant composée de douze numéros consécutifs. Il est même possible de combiner des mises extérieures sur les Douzaines avec des mises intérieures. Par exemple, vous pouvez miser 5 £ sur la première douzaine (avec les numéros 1 à 12) et faire cinq mises à 1 £ sur cinq splits ou cheval avec les autres numéros 13 à 36 plus le zéro.

hedge betting dozens

De cette façon, il n’y aura que 15 numéros que vous n’aurez pas couverts par vos mises, et la probabilité de gagner sera donc de 15 sur 37. Si vous gagnez avec l’un des splits, vous recevrez 17 £ en échange de votre mise de 1 £, vous perdrez 4 £ sur les quatre autres splits et 5 £ sur la première douzaine. Si la bille se pose sur un numéro de la première douzaine, vous recevrez 10 £ avec un paiement de 2 pour 1, votre bénéfice net sera donc de 5 £ en raison de la perte des mises sur les cinq divisions. Dans tous les cas, vous êtes toujours gagnant.

Couvrir les sections de la roue avec des Call bets ou Annonces

Une autre façon d’augmenter vos chances de succès à la table de roulette est de placer des Annonces. Ces mises sont également connues sous le nom de mise française et il y a une très bonne raison à cela : ces mises ne peuvent être placées que sur des roues à zéro dans la roulette française et européenne, car la séquence des chiffres sur la roue dans ces variantes diffère de celle de la roulette américaine.

En général, les Annonces ont plus de chances de gagner parce qu’ils couvrent de plus grandes sections de la roue et sont placés dans une section séparée de la disposition, appelée l’hippodrome. Ce dernier représente les numéros dans l’ordre dans lequel ils apparaissent sur la roue. Notez, cependant, que ces mises impliquent normalement de miser plus d’un jeton.

Un exemple serait la mise Voisin du Zéro qui couvre un total de 17 numéros situés entre 22 et 25 sur la roue. La séquence des numéros est la suivante : 22, 18, 29, 7, 28, 12, 35, 3, 26, 0, 32, 15, 19, 4, 21, 2 et 25. Afin de couvrir tous ces numéros sur le tapis, les joueurs doivent miser neuf jetons. Deux jetons sont mis en jeu sur le 0, le 2 et le 3, cinq jetons sont misés séparément sur les écarts entre le 4-7, le 12-15, le 19-22, le 18-21 et le 32-35 et deux autres jetons couvrent le coin du 25, 26, 28 et 29.

Vousin du Zero

Une autre Annonce est le Tiers du Cylindre qui couvre environ un tiers de la roue française entière car il comprend les 12 numéros qui sont opposés au zéro. Il s’agit de 27, 13, 36, 11, 30, 8, 23, 10, 5, 24, 16, 33. Les joueurs doivent miser un total de six jetons, un sur chacune des six divisions – 5-8, 10-11, 13-16, 23-24, 27-30 et 33-36.

Tiers du Cylindre

La mise Orpheline comprend les huit numéros restants qui sont exclus des Tiers et des Voisins. Ils constituent deux “tranches” de la roue, avec les numéros 17, 34, 6 et 1, 20, 14, 31 et 9, respectivement. Il faut cinq jetons pour faire une mise Orpheline. Quatre d’entre eux sont misés sur les divisions entre 6-9, 14-17, 17-20, et 31-34 tandis que le cinquième jeton est placé comme une mise directe sur le 1.

orphelin bet

Une autre Annonce populaire est la mise dite Finale couvrant tous les numéros se terminant par le même chiffre. Un exemple serait une mise couvrant les numéros 3, 13, 23, et 33. Vous avez besoin de quatre jetons pour cela car vous misez un jeton sur chaque numéro se terminant par 3. Notez que les numéros 0 à 6 vous coûteront quatre jetons mais que les mises finales sur les numéros 7 à 9 ne vous coûteront que trois jetons car il n’y a plus de numéros après 36 à la roulette.

roulette final bet 3

En couvrant de plus grandes sections de la roue, les joueurs augmentent considérablement leurs chances de gagner, sans compter que les profits seront plus substantiels puisque les splits, les corners et les mises sur des numéros individuels offrent un rendement plus élevé.

Suivre la roue ou miser contre la roue?

roulette following the wheelDans une conversation avec des joueurs de roulette expérimentés, vous les entendrez peut-être parler de quelqu’un qui “suit la roue” ou de quelqu’un qui “mise contre la roue”. Il existe plusieurs tendances que les joueurs expérimentés peuvent remarquer lorsqu’ils misent dans un casino en dur. Tout est lié aux motifs que suit la bille lorsque le croupier la lance d’une manière spécifique, ce que l’on appelle aussi la signature du croupier.

Les croupiers de la roulette se mettent parfois involontairement à suivre des schémas. Lorsqu’un tel croupier fait tourner un numéro noir, par exemple, il y a une forte probabilité qu’il le fasse cinq, six fois ou plus au cours des tours suivants. Cependant, reconnaître la signature du croupier n’est pas facile – il faut normalement du temps pour s’y habituer.

La signature du croupier est généralement une combinaison de différents facteurs qui peuvent influencer le résultat des lancers. Parmi ces facteurs, citons la force initiale du lancer et la direction latérale de la rotation de la bille. Si vous rencontrez un tel croupier, la meilleure chose à faire est de suivre la roue et d’ajuster vos mises en fonction de la tendance affichée par le croupier.

Notez que vous ne pouvez suivre la roue à votre avantage que si votre croupier lance la bille de manière cohérente et répétitive. Suivre la roue ne fonctionnera pas s’il y a une variance tangible dans la façon dont la billes est lancée car les modèles seront extrêmement difficiles à détecter. Un exemple de suivi de la roue serait de miser sur le noir après que cette couleur soit sortie quatre ou cinq fois de suite. Cela pourrait indiquer que le croupier a un penchant pour le noir.

Miser contre la roue est exactement le contraire, mais c’est une approche plus appropriée lorsque la signature du croupier comporte des variations prononcées. Ces croupiers lancent la balle de manière plus aléatoire et même s’il existe un modèle, il ne dure que peu de temps. Pour miser contre la roue, cependant, vous devez être capable de reconnaître le moment où le croupier sortira de son schéma afin de pouvoir miser sur le résultat opposé. Par conséquent, si le croupier est généralement aléatoire dans ses lancers, mais qu’il a lancé quatre numéros élevés d’affilée, vous pouvez miser sur un numéro bas.

Si vous souhaitez adopter cette approche, il est primordial de pouvoir détecter des schémas, tels que des séquences de six numéros impairs, six numéros élevés ou six numéros rouges. Une fois que six numéros du même type ont été lancés, vous pouvez miser contre la roue sur le contraire. Si les derniers numéros gagnants ont été bas, comme 5, 7, 3 et 11, vous pouvez miser sur les deuxième et troisième douzaines pour le prochain tour.

Reconnaître les nombres “dormants”

roulette sleeping numbersLes joueurs expérimentés recommandent souvent aux novices de la roulette d’être plus flexibles dans leurs mises. Cela ne veut pas dire qu’ils doivent s’écarter radicalement de leur système, faire fi de toute prudence et commencer à faire des mises imprudentes. Être flexible à la table de roulette signifie que les joueurs doivent être capables de détecter des modèles, de reconnaître la signature du croupier et de l’utiliser à leur avantage.

Le fait d’être observateur peut vous aider à détecter le moment où vous devez passer de la mise contre la roue à la mise suivant la roue. Cela peut également vous permettre de repérer les numéros dits “dormants” ou “froids” et de miser sur eux au lieu de miser sur les numéros répétitifs ou “chauds”. Pour y parvenir, le joueur doit prêter davantage attention aux numéros qui ne sont pas apparus lors des trente premiers lancers de la billes. Un bon observateur est susceptible de remarquer qu’en général, pour un parcours de trente tours, il y a environ dix à douze numéros qui restent en sommeil. Bien entendu, pour pouvoir le faire, il faut identifier et noter les résultats des trente premiers lancers.

Par exemple, un joueur peut avoir remarqué que le croupier favorise un segment donné de la roue de sorte que les numéros 32 Rouge, 15 Noir, 19 Rouge, 4 Noir et 21 Rouge ne sont pas apparus au cours de trente tours. S’il y a un changement de croupier, vous pourriez vouloir placer des mises plus petites, Straight Up, sur ces numéros. Il serait plus probable que ces numéros dormants soient touchés car le nouveau croupier aura une signature différente.

Bien sûr, cela est impossible à faire lorsque l’on joue en ligne, où les résultats des tours sont effectivement aléatoires car il n’y a aucun élément humain pour influencer les résultats. La bonne nouvelle est que des développeurs de logiciels réputés ont créé des variantes de la roulette où les joueurs peuvent bénéficier de diverses statistiques, notamment les numéros chauds et froids, les résultats des tours précédents et les rapports entre les numéros gagnants rouges/noirs et impairs/pairs.

Un mot d’avertissement : les joueurs ne doivent pas s’attacher trop longtemps à des numéros dormants car ces numéros restent parfois en sommeil pendant des périodes prolongées, c’est-à-dire plus de trente tours. Certains experts de la roulette ont observé des numéros qui ont dormi pendant plus de cent tours. Surtout, rappelez-vous que tous les numéros ont les mêmes chances de gagner à chaque tour. Si vos numéros endormis ne se réveillent pas au cours de plusieurs tours, vous pouvez miser sur un autre résultat pour protéger votre capital.

Appliquer le système de mise Shotwell

Le système de mise Shotwell a gagné en popularité à la fin des années 1970, mais il est encore utilisé aujourd’hui. Ce système de mise a été conçu en tenant compte de la séquence de chiffres de la roue à double zéro. Il repose sur l’idée que les joueurs peuvent augmenter leurs chances de gagner en répartissant uniformément leurs mises autour de la roue. Les numéros sur lesquels vous misez sont répartis de manière égale sur la roue, de sorte que, quel que soit l’endroit où la bille atterrit, vous avez toujours de grandes chances de gagner.

Le système Shotwell utilise généralement des combinaisons de six numéros et les joueurs misent sur l’une d’entre elles en conjonction avec quatre mises Straight Up. Une unité de mise est placée sur une mise de six lignes et quatre unités sont placées sur chacun des numéros individuels associés à la combinaison respective. Les combinaisons de six lignes et les numéros individuels qui leur sont associés sont les suivants :

Système de mise à la roulette Shotwell
Combinaisons de six nombres Les mises associées Straight Up
1 à 6 20, 26, 8, 10
4 à 9 13, 14, 15, 10
10 à 15 ans 16, 17, 18, 28
13 à 18 ans 11, 12, 27, 28
19 à 24 1, 2, 4, 26
28 à 33 00, 22, 24, 35
31 à 36 0,00, 29, 30

Comme vous pouvez le constater, ce système permet aux joueurs de couvrir jusqu’à dix numéros avec cinq unités de mise seulement. La combinaison que vous choisissez n’a pratiquement aucune importance, car quelle que soit la position de la bille, elle ne sera jamais à plus de trois poches de l’un des numéros sur lesquels vous avez misé. La force de ce système réside dans le fait que les joueurs ont pratiquement 25 % de chances de gagner à chaque tour, car ils ont couvert tous les 4 numéros de la roue. L’inconvénient de ce système est qu’il ne fait rien pour réduire l’avantage de la maison. Il est recommandé aux joueurs d’utiliser le Shotwell avec précaution – seuls les gains constants avec leurs mises Straight Up peuvent leur assurer une avance et compenser leurs pertes.

Application du système de mise rouge

Le système de mise rouge exploite le fait que la troisième colonne de la table est composée de huit numéros rouges (3, 9, 12, 18, 21, 27, 30, 36) et de seulement quatre numéros noirs (6, 15, 24, 33). C’est le cas de la roulette américaine et de la roulette européenne, ce qui fait que le système convient à toutes les variantes du jeu. Ce système ne nécessite que deux mises : une mise sur la troisième colonne et une autre sur le noir pour couvrir les quatre numéros restants de cette colonne. C’est au joueur de décider de l’unité de base à utiliser et du nombre d’unités de chacun de ses deux mises.

Supposons que vous décidiez de miser 10 £ sur la troisième colonne et 20 £ sur le noir. Le prochain tour de roue peut donner lieu à plusieurs résultats possibles. Si la bille tombe sur un numéro rouge de la troisième colonne, vous gagnerez 20 € avec la mise sur la colonne et perdrez les 20 € sur le noir, ce qui signifie que vous serez quitte.

roulette red betting system

Si la billes tombe sur un numéro noir de la troisième colonne, vous gagnez avec les deux mises pour un bénéfice net total de 40 €. Si le noir de la première ou de la deuxième colonne tombe, vous perdez 10 € avec votre mise sur la troisième colonne et vous gagnez 20 € avec votre mise sur l’argent pair. Vous perdez la totalité de vos 30 € sur les deux mises si la billes tombe sur la ou les poches zéro ou si la rouge de la première ou de la deuxième colonne est touchée. Tout comme le Shotwell, le système de mise rouge ne peut pas transformer la roulette d’un jeu à espérance négative en un jeu à espérance positive, simplement parce que le type de mise que vous faites ne modifie pas l’avantage de la maison.

Miser sur les chiffres de l’action

Ce modèle de mise repose sur l’idée que les roulettes sont identiques dans la mesure où leurs numéros sont répartis de la même manière. Ainsi, les numéros des roulettes à simple zéro sont répartis de la même manière, tandis que les roulettes à double zéro utilisent leur propre séquence de numéros. Certains joueurs essaient d’exploiter cette séquence en misant sur les numéros dits “d’action”. Sur une roue à double zéro, la séquence des numéros d’action est la suivante : 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 et 33.

Ces numéros sont soit adjacents sur la roue, soit situés à proximité les uns des autres. Par conséquent, lorsque la bille tourne autour de la roue, elle “flirte” toujours avec l’un de ces numéros, ce qui se traduit par de plus grandes chances de gagner la mise. Il n’y a que deux exceptions avec les numéros 14 et 33. Si vous regardez attentivement, vous remarquerez sûrement que le 14 est séparé des autres numéros d’action par deux poches d’un côté et quatre poches de l’autre. De même, le numéro 33 n’a pas d’espace d’un côté et quatre espaces de l’autre.

Maintenant que nous avons énuméré tous les numéros d’action, il est temps d’expliquer comment les utiliser à votre avantage. Comme vous l’avez probablement remarqué vous-même, les numéros 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 et 15 sont situés les uns à côté des autres sur la disposition et forment une mise de six lignes – vous pouvez placer trois jetons entre 10 et 13 pour les couvrir. Une autre mise à six lignes de trois jetons peut être faite sur les numéros 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 et 33 qui sont également adjacents sur la disposition. Vous placez vos trois jetons entre 28 et 31. Enfin, un jeton est à miser sur le coin des numéros 17, 18, 20 et 21. Vous avez couvert les seize numéros d’action avec sept jetons.

roulette action numbers

Comme nous l’avons mentionné précédemment, le 14 et le 33 sont séparés des autres numéros d’action par des écarts plus importants. Certains joueurs de roulette expérimentés aiment miser un jeton supplémentaire de huit comme assurance sur la ligne entre 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 et 6. Le numéro 4 est la clé de cette dernière mise car il réduit efficacement l’écart plus important entre le 14 et le 33. Vous avez peut-être huit jetons à risquer mais vous avez couvert 22 des 38 résultats possibles. Puisque vos numéros sont maintenant répartis de manière égale sur la roue, les chances que la billes atterrisse dans une poche gagnante sont plus grandes.

Roulette Bets and Betting Patterns

You have probably heard the proverb “Nothing ventured, nothing gained”. This aphorism applies in full force to betting on the outcome of casino games as one needs to take some chances if they want to win big. It is also valid in the game of roulette where randomness reigns and winning or losing depends on nothing else but chance.

This is precisely what causes many people to associate this captivating game with reckless gambling. Yet, if you strike up a conversation with a seasoned roulette player, you are likely to notice they are not inclined to take unwarranted risks. Of course, a certain degree of risk is involved in all casino games, roulette included, but taking calculated risks is hardly the same as making rash decisions.

Most experienced roulette players are able to make this distinction, which is why they prefer to incorporate various betting patterns or bet combinations to increase their overall chances of success and reduce the risk of exhausting their bankrolls. Indeed, when combined with adequate bankroll management, betting patterns can greatly diminish the risk of ruin this game of chance comes with.

Knowing how much to bet and what combination of numbers to bet on are the most important ingredients for success at the roulette table. If you are yet to make your first steps towards becoming a successful roulette player, the popular bet combinations and patterns we have covered below may be of some help.

Betting Patterns for Outside Bets

As you probably know already, there are two major categories of bets in roulette. Inside bets are made either on individual numbers or on groups of neighbouring numbers on the layout. Making such bets involves a higher degree of risk. Because of this, less experienced players are generally recommended to make outside bets as the chances of winning consistently with these are greater.

The sub-types that fall into the outside bets category are Red/Black, High/Low, Odd/Even, Columns, and Dozens. Out of these, the first three types pay even money while the last two return 2 to 1. Let us assume you are interested in playing even chances. This is where hedge betting can be a useful approach.

Hedge Betting on Even Chances

Hedge betting means you are placing bets that actually complement each other so that the player can achieve a balance between risk and potential reward. To better demonstrate it, imagine you are willing to risk £10 on the next spin and bet on Odd/Even. A suitable pattern will be to bet £1 on five individual odd numbers and £5 on even.

This would reduce the likelihood of losing the £10 to 14 out of 37 since there will be 12 odd numbers you have not covered, plus the single zero which also causes even-money bets to lose. If any of your individual odd numbers come up, your £1 bet will return at a rate of 35 to 1, which means you will collect £35 and lose £9 on the other five bets, which makes for a net profit of £26. Then again, if an even number comes up (the true odds are 18 to 19), you will break even because you will receive your initial £10 back.

hedge betting even chances

Of course, this was only an example to demonstrate how hedge betting on even-money wagers applies to the game of roulette. Players can come up with similar patterns and adjust the bet sizing so that it fits their own preferences and bankroll size.

Hedge Betting on the Dozens

Such hedge patterns can also be incorporated into your play when betting on the Dozens, each one consisting of twelve consecutive numbers. It is even possible to combine outside bets on the Dozens with inside bets. For instance, you can bet £5 on the first dozen (with numbers 1 through 12) and make five £1 bets on five splits with the remaining numbers 13 through 36 plus the zero.

hedge betting dozens

This way, there will be only 15 numbers you have not covered with your bets so the likelihood of winning will be 15 out of 37. If you win with one of the splits, you will collect £17 in exchange for your £1 bet, lose £4 on the other four splits, and another £5 on the first dozen. If the ball settles on a number from the first dozen, you will receive £10 with a 2 to 1 payout, so your net profit will be £5 due to losing the bets on the five splits. Either way, you are still ahead.

Covering Wheel Sections with Call Bets

Another way to boost your overall chances of success at the roulette table is to place Call bets. These are also known as the French bets and there is a very good reason why – such wagers can be placed only on single-zero wheels in French and European roulette because the number sequence on the wheel in these variations differs from that in American roulette.

Generally, Call bets have higher chances of winning because they cover larger sections of the wheel and are placed in a separate section of the layout, called the racetrack. The latter represents the numbers in the order in which they appear on the wheel. Note, however, that these bets normally involve staking more than one chip.

An example would be the Vousin du Zero wager which covers a total of 17 numbers located between 22 and 25 on the wheel. The sequence of numbers is as follows: 22, 18, 29, 7, 28, 12, 35, 3, 26, 0, 32, 15, 19, 4, 21, 2 and 25. In order to cover all these numbers on the layout, players are required to bet nine chips. Two chips are put on stake on 0, 2 and 3, five chips are bet separately on the splits between 4-7, 12-15, 19-22, 18-21, and 32-35 and two more chips cover the corner of 25, 26, 28 and 29.

Vousin du Zero

Another Call bet is the Tiers du Cylindre which covers about one-third of the entire French wheel as it includes the 12 numbers that are opposite to the zero. These include 27, 13, 36, 11, 30, 8, 23, 10, 5, 24, 16, 33. Players are required to stake a total of six chips, one on each of the six splits – 5-8, 10-11, 13-16, 23-24, 27-30 and 33-36.

Tiers du Cylindre

The Orphelin bet includes all the remaining eight numbers that are excluded from the Tiers and the Voisins. These make for two “slices” of the wheel, with numbers 17, 34, 6 and 1, 20, 14, 31 and 9, respectively. You need five chips to make an Orphelin bet. Four of those are bet on the splits between 6-9, 14-17, 17-20, and 31-34 while the fifth chip is placed as a Straight Up bet on 1.

orphelin bet

Another popular Call bet is the so-called Final bet which covers all numbers ending in the same digit. An example would be a wager covering numbers 3, 13, 23, and 33. You need four chips for this as you bet one chip on each number ending in 3. Note that numbers 0 through 6 will cost you four chips but final bets on numbers 7 through 9 will cost you only three chips because there are no more numbers after 36 in roulette.

roulette final bet 3

By covering larger sections of the wheel, players significantly increase their chances of winning, not to mention the profits will be more substantial since splits, corners, and bets on individual numbers offer a higher return.

Following the Wheel vs. Betting against the Wheel

roulette following the wheelIn a conversation with experienced roulette players, you may hear them speaking of someone “following the wheel” or someone “betting against the wheel”. There are various trends skilled players may notice when they are betting in a landbased casino. It all has to do with the patterns the ball follows when the dealer tosses it in a specific manner, which is also known as the dealer’s signature.

Roulette dealers sometimes involuntarily slip into patterns themselves. When one such dealer spins one black number, for example, there is a high probability of them spinning black five, six or more times during the following rounds. However, recognizing the dealer’s signature is not easy – it normally takes time to get used to it.

The dealer’s signature is usually a combination of different factors that may influence the outcome of the tosses. Some of these include the initial force of the toss and the lateral direction of the ball’s spin. If you come across one such dealer, the best course of action would be to follow the wheel and adjust your bets on the basis of the trend the dealer displays.

Note that you can follow the wheel to your benefit only when your dealer tosses the ball in a consistent, repetitive manner. Following the wheel will not work if there is a tangible variance in the way the ball is launched because patterns will be extremely difficult to detect. An example of following the wheel would be when you bet on black after this colour has hit four or five times in a row. This might speak about a dealer’s inclination towards black.

Betting against the wheel is precisely the opposite but is a more suitable approach when the dealer’s signature involves pronounced variations. Such dealers toss the ball more randomly and even if there is a pattern, it lasts for a short while. To bet against the wheel, however, you need to be able to recognize when the dealer will break out of their pattern so that you can bet on the opposite outcome. Therefore, if the dealer is generally random in the tosses but has spun four high numbers in a row, you might want to bet on a low number next.

If you wish to adopt this approach, it is of crucial importance to be able to detect patterns, such as sequences of six odd numbers, six high or six red numbers. Once six numbers of the same type have been spun, you can bet against the wheel on the opposite. If the last winning numbers have been low like 5, 7, 3, and 11, you might want to bet on the second and third dozens for the next spin.

Recognizing “Sleeping” Numbers

roulette sleeping numbersSeasoned players would often recommend roulette novices to be more flexible with their bets. This is not to say they should deviate drastically from their system, throw all caution to the wind, and start making reckless bets. Being flexible at the roulette table means that players should be able to detect patterns, recognize the signature of the dealer, and use it to their advantage.

Being observant may help you detect when to switch from betting against the wheel to following the wheel. It may also enable you to spot the so-called “sleeping” or “cold” numbers and stake on them instead of betting on repeating or “hot” numbers. To achieve this, the player needs to pay more attention to the numbers which have not appeared for the first thirty tosses of the ball. A good observer is likely to notice that usually for a course of thirty spins, there are about ten to twelve numbers which remain dormant. Of course, to be able to do so one is required to identify and note the results of the first thirty spins.

For example, a player may have noticed the dealer favours a given segment of the wheel so that numbers 32 Red, 15 Black, 19 Red, 4 Black, and 21 Red have not appeared over the course of thirty spins. Provided there is a change of dealers, you might want to place smaller, Straight Up bets on these numbers. It would be more likely for these dormant numbers to hit because the new dealer will have a different signature.

Of course, this is impossible to do when playing online where the outcomes of the spins are indeed random because there is no human element to influence the results. The good news is that well-known software developers have created roulette variations where players can benefit from various statistics including hot and cold numbers, results on previous spins, and ratios between red/black and odd/even winning numbers.

One word of caution – players should not attach themselves to sleeping numbers for too long because such numbers sometimes remain dormant for prolonged periods of time, i.e. more than thirty spins. Some roulette experts have observed numbers who have slept for more than a hundred spins. Most of all, remember that all numbers have equal chances of winning on any individual spin. If your sleepers do not wake up over the course of several spins, you might want to bet on a different outcome to protect your bankroll.

Applying the Shotwell Betting System

The Shotwell betting system gained popularity in the late 1970s but remains in use to this day. This betting system was designed with the number sequence of the double-zero wheel in mind. It revolves around the idea players can increase their chances of a win by evenly distributing their bets around the wheel. The numbers you bet on are evenly spaced on the wheel so that regardless of where the ball ends up, you still have substantial chances of scoring a win.

The Shotwell system generally utilizes six-number combinations and players bet on one of them in conjunction with four Straight Up bets. One betting unit is wagered on a six-line bet and four units are staked on each of the individual numbers associated with the respective combination. The six-line combinations and the individual numbers they associate with are the following:

Roulette Shotwell Betting System
Six-Number Combinations Associated Straight Up Bets
1 through 6 20, 26, 8, 10
4 through 9 13, 14, 15, 10
10 through 15 16, 17, 18, 28
13 through 18 11, 12, 27, 28
19 through 24 1, 2, 4, 26
28 through 33 00, 22, 24, 35
31 through 36 0,00, 29, 30

As you can see, this system enables players to cover as many as ten numbers with five betting units only. It practically is irrelevant which combination you choose because no matter where the ball settles, it will never be more than three pockets away from one of the numbers you have bet on. The strength of this system results from the fact that players practically have a 25% chance of winning on each spin because they have covered every 4th number on the wheel. The trouble with this system is that it does nothing to decrease the house edge. Players are recommended to use the Shotwell with caution – only winning with their Straight Up bets consistently can ensure they get ahead and balance off their losses.

Applying the Red Betting System

The Red betting system exploits the fact the third column of the table’s layout consists of eight red numbers (3, 9, 12, 18, 21, 27, 30, 36) and only four black ones (6, 15, 24, 33). This is the case in both American and European roulette which renders the system suitable for either variation of the game. This system calls for making only two bets – one bet on the third column and another one on black to cover the remaining four numbers in this column. It is up to players to decide what base unit to use and how many units each of their two bets should consist of.

Let’s assume you decide to bet £10 on the third column and £20 on black. The next spin of the wheel may result in several possible outcomes. If the ball lands on a red number from the third column, you will collect £20 with the column bet and lose the £20 on black, which means you will break even.

roulette red betting system

Should the ball settle on a black number from the third column, you win with both bets for a total net profit of £40. If black from the first or the second columns hits, you lose £10 with your third column bet and collect £20 from your even-money bet. You lose your entire £30 on both bets whenever the ball lands on the zero pocket(s) or when red from the first or the second columns hits. Similarly to the Shotwell, the Red betting system cannot transform roulette from a negative to a positive expectation game simply because the type of bets you make does not alter the house edge.

Betting on the Action Numbers

This betting pattern is based on the idea that roulette wheels are the same in that their numbers are distributed in the same manner. Thus, the numbers of single-zero wheels are spread in the same fashion while double-zero wheels utilize their own number sequence. Some players try to exploit this sequencing by betting on the so-called “action” numbers. On a double-zero wheel, the action number sequence is as follow – 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33.

These numbers are either adjacent on the wheel or are located in close proximity to one another. Therefore, when the ball spins around the rim of the wheel, it always “flirts” with one these numbers, which translates in greater chances of a winning bet. There are only two exceptions with numbers 14 and 33. If you look closely, you will surely notice that 14 is separated from the other action numbers with two pockets on one side and four pockets on the other side. Similarly, number 33 has no gaps on one side and four gaps on the other.

Now that we have listed all the action numbers, it is time to explain how to use them to your advantage. As you have probably noticed yourself, numbers 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 are located next to each other on the layout and form a Six-line bet – you can place three chips between 10 and 13 to cover them. Another Six-line bet of three chips can be made on numbers 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33 which also are adjacent on the layout. You position your three chips between 28 and 31. Finally, one chip is to be bet on the corner of numbers 17, 18, 20 and 21. You have covered all sixteen action numbers with seven chips.

roulette action numbers

As was mentioned earlier, 14 and 33 are separated from other action numbers with more gaps. Some seasoned roulette players like to bet an additional, eight chip as an insurance on the line between 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6. Number 4 is key for this last bet because it effectively reduces the wider gap between 14 and 33. You may have eight chips at risk but you have covered 22 out of 38 possible outcomes. Since your numbers are now distributed evenly on the wheel, the chances of the ball landing in a winning pocket are greater.